top of page

December 20th - The Muppets: Letters To Santa

If you were to ask me what my favourite Christmas film is I would most likely land on A Muppets Christmas Carol (1992). This does not mean I am a huge Muppets fan, in fact, I think the only other Muppets film I have seen is the reboot film, The Muppets (2011). However, seeing as my favourite Christmas film involves the Muppets, the opportunity to watch a new Muppets-based Christmas film is going to perk my interest. That film is A Muppets Christmas: Letters to Santa (2008). The film follows all the Muppets as they prepare for a Christmas trip to the Caribbean. However, Gonzo accidentally forgets to post their friend's letter to Santa and so the Muppets must embark on an adventure to the North Pole to deliver it in person.

I wanted to get the fact that I am not a Muppets aficionado because this film doesn’t seem to be the most loved in the fandom from the few reviews I have seen. It doesn’t seem particularly hated, but there do seem complaints that it either doesn’t fit the Muppet's characters or tone, two things I have little knowledge of. Therefore, I went into this pretty much fresh, and I thought it was just fine. Not great, not terrible, just fine. It is quite sweet and has a simple but effective Christmas story and goes a long at a fair pace. I don’t have too much else to say about it, it works as a Muppet thing for me. It is only 45 minutes long with credits, so it goes through quickly enough and doesn’t drag, and it has enough laughs to keep you entertained. I know this review feels very half-arsed, but the film is so kind of middling that there is very little else to say.

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page