top of page

December 9th - The Christmas Tree

The Oxford English Dictionary describes incompetence as the ‘inability to do something successfully; ineptitude’. That feels like an awful lot of words for The Christmas Tree (1991). I won’t lie to you and say that I was caught completely off guard by just how poor this film was. I have been aware of this film’s existence for several years and so I knew that I was stepping into a world of hurt by watching this film. But I still couldn’t quite believe how just how terrible every aspect of this film is. Let’s start with the animation itself which is possibly the worst I have ever seen in a film. It is janky as all hell with no movement seeming real, and all the characters have this lifeless energy to them. This isn’t helped by the atrocious voice acting. There is one voice actor who at least feels like they’re having fun with it, but the rest are so monotone. And without feeling at all. It honestly feels like they just got some randos off the street, and then invited their kids along as well to help. The direction and editing throughout are also complete ass. There is one scene in particular where the film cuts back between two different actions and it is so disjointed. Neither thing happening have any correlation with the other and the film literally cuts over dialogue to get between the two. It is beyond inept. Add to all of this that the film's narrative is basic and bland, and you have one of the worst films I have ever seen. I did get a few decent chuckles because of how incompetent the film is, but overall it was just terrible.


Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page