top of page

Suspiria: This film is like an nightmare. A visually stunning nightmare!

In my early teenage years, I was a complete horror nut. Every film I watched was a horror. This did include a fair few classic horror films, but for the most part I watched a lot of crap. And I enjoyed these films at the time, the time before I really understood the concept of something being really bad. If a film had a story I could understand and general horror tropes, then I would most likely enjoy. The idea of seeking out horror classics that my parents hadn't recommended was an alien concept to me, instead deciding to sit back and watch the Friday the 13th (2009) remake for the 25th time. But time passed, I got older, and I fell out of love with horror films. However, recently I have been feeling quite nostalgic and have decided to get back to the genre which arguably spearheaded my love of films, and also decided to seek out the classics from home and abroad that I may have put off when I was younger. Suspiria (1977) was one of these classics. Most of the time I would say "Why did I not watch this earlier!" but, knowing my younger self, that would have been a horrific idea because this film would have just gone completely over my head. It is not a horror full of jump scares which were my go-to back then and so I would have probably disregarded it as boring. I am so glad I didn't do that because I really, really liked this film. The film follows Suzy Bannion (Jessica Harper), a young American ballet dancer, who arrives at the Tanz Dance Academy in Freiburg to perfect her skills. As soon as she arrives strange and disturbing events occur, including the murder of a former pupil of the Academy who had been expelled only the day before. The film becomes more and more nightmarish as it continues, until the dark secret of the academy is revealed to Suzy and, in turn, to the audience.

I am going to start this review with the weaker aspects of the film, mainly because there aren't many and the problems with the I don't even necessarily think are all that big of a problem so might as well get them out of the way first. One 'problem' of that the film is an Italian production but shot and dubbed in English. Directed by Dario Argento, the film has a predominantly Italian cast who have re-recorded their lines after the fact. It is not always done the best and can be a little distracting, but you quickly get used to it and it doesn’t hinder the film at all. Another aspect of the film that is not entirely perfect is the practical effects. I'm not sure if the effects looked believable at the time but they definitely have not passed the test of time. But again, this does not particularly matter because the film creates such a creepy, dream like atmosphere that you are too sucked into and on the edge of your seat for them to really matter. This atmosphere is forever present and almost ever lets up. Right from the very start of the film you are thrown into this atmosphere. As soon as Suzy steps off the plane there is an unpleasant feeling, epitomized by the superb score, and this continues until the very end of the film, leaving you feeling uncomfortable and creeped out constantly. Its brilliant.

Speaking of things brilliant about the film, have you seen how this fucking film looks? Oh my god it is beautiful. Just every single shot, every set, every bit of lighting, it is just all absolutely breath-taking. I was not expecting to be blown away by the visual style of this film when I sat down to watch it but Jesus Christ it took me by surprise. Every set looks like some sort of hellish dream world, illuminated by stunning lighting, and there is never a moment where you want to look away from the screen. There is just something about the designs of the sets in this film which just really, really impress me. They're incredibly creative and artistic and I don't know if I have seen anything quite like them, at least not in a horror film. The most notable moment of when the visual style is at its peak is during a scene where the dancers have been moved into one of the dance halls to sleep as there has been an infestation of maggots in their rooms. The beds are arranged in a circle and have been surrounded by white sheets. When the lights are turned off for the dancers to go to sleep the entire scene becomes illuminated in red light. It is unclear whether this is how the characters see the scene or if this a luxury given to just the audience which keeps up this dream like feeling of the rest of the film. This feeling is only exacerbated as the scene continues as we see Suzy and her friend Sara (Stefania Casini) talking in hushed tones in bed while an unknown figure is shown in shadow behind them, sleeping just behind the sheet that is surrounding the characters. It is a brilliantly visual scene. the lighting of the scene creates a whole nightmarish feeling for the scene, rather than the dreamlike one that follows the majority of the rest are not huge horror fan, there is enough just here of the film. This feeling matches the horror of the scene, as it is the first time, we see any real evil endangering our main character, with the silhouetted figure behind the sheet. It is an extremely simple scene but remains visually stunning and is extremely effective. And this is only one example of this, but if I was to go on, this review would be far too long.

Dario Argento's Suspiria is a hauntingly beautiful horror film which is quite rightly regarded as a classic. There are some elements that are not perfect. The dubbing could be a little better and some of the practical effects done not hold up to well, but these elements are completely overshadowed by the sheer creativity, creepiness and beauty that is present throughout the rest of the film. It is easily the best-looking film I have seen in a long, long time and I am even struggling to find a film off the top of my head that I enjoyed as much on a visual level. I think it is very obvious that I am going to recommend this film. Even if you are not a huge horror film fan there is enough here just is visual quality that should give you reason to sit down and watch it. This film was also very recently remade, and although I have heard it is okay all I can thin know after seeing the original is, why? Why would you remake a film this good? what is the purpose? But that is a debate for another time and place. I will finish this review by saying that if you are looking for a film that will completely creep you out and entrance you at the same time this film will be right up your street.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page