top of page

Us: Jordan Peele is continuing his rise to the top of the film-making game.

Jordan Peele's Get Out (2017) is not only one of my favourite horror films of the last few years but it is also one of my favourite films of the last few years in general. Jordan Peele became a writer and director with a rising star that I was looking forward to following, and so when it was announced that Us (2019) would be Peele's next project and it would be another horror film you can bet I was intrigued and excited. My excitement rose when I saw the first trailer for the film. This looked terrifying and god knows how little actually terrifying horror films come out these days. But I feel like the horror genre is on a very upward curve and I was excited at the prospect of Us helping the genre's trajectory. So, did the film meet up to my expectations? Well, yes and no. The film is excellent and I really, really enjoyed it, but it was not as scary as I had been hoping it was going to be. The film follows the Wilson family who have taken a break to their holiday house. Whilst there, a family appears at their front door and force themselves into the house. Once inside it turns out this imposter family look exactly like the Wilson family and call themselves Shadows. The Shadows have turned up to torment and eventually kill the Wilson family for having a great life while they suffered alone. The film then shows the Shadows as they torment the family and the Wilson's attempting to find out how they can stop these imposters.

Now, if you think that plot synopsis is not the most clear that is because it would be impossible to say anything else about the film without spoiling it. The screenplay for the film is superb. It is fantastically written with well fleshed out characters, interesting twists and turns, funny and realistic dialogue and it is also very smart which, if you have seen Get Out, shouldn't come as such a surprise to you. It also shouldn't come as a surprise that the film's story is filled with social commentary. But where as Get Out's was very clear, the commentary in this film is much more up for interpretation. I am not even 100% convinced by my own reading of the film, which I believe to be a comment on the staggering divide in the classes in the United States. Regardless, I feel that the fact that story is open for interpretation does give the film a level of intrigue that is a level above that of Get Out and does give it an edge. The films direction is also really good, with a mixture of both competent and classic film making techniques mixed in with inventive and creative techniques and visuals. On the whole the film has a very good visual style, especially towards the end of the film where I thought the film was visually fantastic. And I couldn't leave this review without mentioning the soundtrack and score. The choice of songs for the soundtrack was great with the Beach Boys and N.W.A both making appearances, but the score really stuck out to me, especially with the film's main theme. It was very reminiscent of classic style horror themes like The Exorcist (1973), Halloween (1978) and the Omen (1976) with a genuine horrific feel to it, whilst also being memorable and catchy. It captures the mood of the film brilliantly and was a fantastic addition which I think is sorely missing in a lot of modern horror. Unfortunately, as I said before, the film was not as scary as I had hoped it would be. It has its moments, but on the whole it isn't particularly terrifying, but I don't think it was necessarily attempting to be a truly scary horror film and this seemed to be more of a marketing ploy. I can't say I wasn't a little disappointed by the lack of scares, but the film is good enough that I really enjoyed it regardless.

The acting in this film is also top notch, even if it is mostly not exceptional. The two Wilson kids, Zora and Jason, played by Shahadi Wright Joseph and Evan Alex respectively, both put in pretty decent performances. Evan Alex's performance is not the most expressive, but his character is written to be a bit socially weird and awkward so it kind of works. Elisabeth Moss, as Kitty Tyler, and Tim Heidecker, as Josh Tyler, are both fun as a stuck-up and obnoxious couple who are 'friendly' with the Wilson family, and Winston Duke is entertaining and funny as Gabe Wilson, while also having an air of bravery and willingness to protect his family. But the real star of this film is Lupita Nyong'o, hands down, no questions asked. She is superb in the film as Adelaide Wilson. She is gripping in every scene and you can hardly take your eyes off her. This is equally impressive when you take into account that she has to play two characters, with her also portraying the Shadow of her character. Granted, all the other Wilson family actors have to do this to and they all do it well, but Nyong'o's Shadow is much more established and fleshed out then the rest of the Shadows and is the main antagonist of the film. The difference in her portrayal of both characters is staggering and I often found myself forgetting that it was actually the same actress playing these two characters. Nyong'o's performance is exceptional and is one I will remember for a while.

The question that is going to come up whenever anyone talks about this film is 'is it better than Get Out?' I would probably have to say no, but at the same time I don't think they are entirely comparable. Of course they are both horrors with an aspect of social commentary, but I think there are enough differences between the two that a straight up comparison isn't really fitting. Us is a fantastic film with superb writing, some fantastic visuals and a great score. Add some very good performances in there, and finish it off with an exceptional performance from Lupita Nyong'o and you have a brilliant follow up to Get Out as well as a film that is strong enough to stand on its own two feet at the same time. It might not have been as scary as I had been hoping it was going to be, but it was still a brilliant film and if I was excited to follow Jordan Peele's career after Get Out, after Us I will be one of the first in line at all his upcoming films.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page