top of page

It's a Wonderful Life: Why have I left it so long to revisit this film?

I think I may have found a new film to watch every Christmas. I have seen this film before, and of course you see the classic scenes are shown every year so it's been very hard to avoid. But it has been so many years since I watched the film, and having watched it again I am absolutely kicking myself for having not watched it sooner. This film is beautiful. Its beautifully shot, beautifully performed and beautifully written. It is a near perfect film. The story sees us taken through the life of George Bailey (James Stewart). First we seem him as an adventurous and loving young boy, then as a young man desperate to escape his small town and go and see the world. However, with his father's death he is forced to stay in order to save the family business from Mr. Potter (Lionel Barrymore) and we see how all the dreams he thought he had come crumbling down continuously in his life. It all becomes to much for him and one Christmas Eve, after a heavy night of drinking, he considers killing himself and wishes he was never born. His guardian angel, Clarence (Henry Travers), comes down to show him what life in the town would be like if George had never been born in an attempt to restore his spirit and love for life.

I have already mentioned in my introduction how beautiful the film is but it can't be said enough. The composition and cinematography is gorgeous. So many of the shots could be paintings on there own. I had also forgotten how little this film actually has to do with Christmas. There is actually only 30 minutes of the film that take place at Christmas, and even this section of the film isn't focused on Christmas. And yet, watching the film you totally understand why this has become a Christmas classic. The whole sequence of George Bailey running down the snow covered streets, full of joy in his heart and wishing everyone, even the evil Mr. Potter, a Merry Christmas is an iconic Christmas scene. But the story on the whole is of a man who believes that all his dreams and aspirations have been taken away from him by other people. He is stuck in a town that he always vowed he would leave, and every time he gets close to escaping something, or someone, drags him back in. His frustration is palpable, and that is huge credit to the writing. The story is engrossing from the start right until the end and the emotional weight of the film is huge. You completely buy in to all these characters and their trials and tribulations, so that when the joyous ending comes back you are hit with a flood of emotion. Now, I am not a crier especially at films. I have never cried at a film, but I have teared up at a few. I can now add 'It's a Wonderful Life' to that list.

Of course, you can have the best writing in the world, with the greatest cinematography but if your actors are terrible then it will be very hard to appreciate the film. Fortunately, everyone in this film is great. From the bit part players to the stars of the show everyone does their job brilliantly. The first performance to mention is Lionel Barrymore as Mr. Potter. The character himself is a little of the time in the way he goes about his malicious behaviour, but Barrymore captures it perfectly. His lack of empathy and aggravation at George Bailey is clear throughout the performance, and he is entirely unlikeable, which he is meant to be. Donna Reed is also brilliant as Mary Hatch. Her performance allows you as an audience to fall in love with just as much as George does, such is the power in her performance. She is funny and loving but also does well when she needs to be angry or scared. Henry Travers is great as Clarence. His child like innocence is charming but he also manages to get across a sense of wisdom. Then we come to James Stewart. I love this man. Anything I see him in I think he absolute knocks it out of the park, and this film is no exception. He runs the gamut of emotions within the film from spiritedly and eager eyed young man, to a dispirited and angry father, and back to euphoric joy. You feel all these emotions with him. Its hard when you have an actor as recognisable and known as James Stewart to buy into a performance, but he is so good in the film that I fully believed in George Bailey and the world in which he lived. This is probably Stewart's most iconic performance and it is clear to see why.

I love this film. I don't think I truly appreciated it the first time around. I understood that it was clearly a good film, but I never bought in to the story and characters enough for it to have a profound effect on me. This time was completely different. As was in from the get go and as a reward I found a film that is incredibly beautiful and emotionally hard hitting. It is an almost perfect film which may be the highest praise I am willing to give any film. If you couldn't tell already this film is 100% a recommend. Watch it now. Wherever you are. At work, at home, on a bus, in a lake, watch it. It will fill you with the Christmas cheer just in time for the big day.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page