top of page

12 Angry Men: One of the best ever made.

I have a system for how I rate films. Its on a 5 star basis and unless a film absolutely knocks me out upon first viewing a 5 star rating is impossible. Most films I watch for the first time and I think are incredible will only get a 4.5 star rating. This is because I feel like a film needs to be subjected to repeat viewing in order to be seen as a 5 star. Because of this I have only ever rated 22 films as being five star films. '12 Angry Men' (1957) was one of these 4.5 star films. A film I adored upon my first viewing and loved equally upon my second but which I had not granted the privilege of a Rob Hay 5 star rating. Well, upon my third viewing I can say that it has finally reached the pinnacle and now sits at the lofty heights of the 5 star films, bringing my total to 23.The film follows 12 men who have acted as the jury in a murder case. 11 of them think he is guilty, 1 of them does not. Trapped in a small room in sweltering heat and with personal motives in play, the tension becomes unbearable as one juror stands up to convince the rest that this man is not guilty.

The plot of this film is super simple. 12 men in a room discussing whether a man is guilty or not while the heat makes them restless and on edge. That is the entire film. 99% of it takes place in the jury room with these men sat around discussing, often angrily, their points as to why they believe the accused is guilty or not. The simplicity of the plot is what makes it so effective. It's focus remains laser tight throughout and it keeps you gripped within the narrative superbly. This is also helped by the fact this film has one of the greatest scripts ever written. Yes, the technical side of the film is also great. The way the camera manages to create a feeling of claustrophobia and growing tension is incredible and the set design, although massively simple, is equally as important in creating this feeling. The frame compliments every emotion, when it wants you to feel distant it will pan out, when it wants to match the tension it uses extreme close ups. All simple techniques but it is masterfully done. But it is truly the script of this film that makes it so incredible. You hang on every word, every conversation is its own journey. If and when I fist bump during a film it is usually because of an action scene, but this film managed to make me do it as a reaction to dialogue. Twice. Reginald Rose wrote the screenplay for this film and he deserves an incredible amount of credit for the finished product. It might just be the greatest script I have ever seen put to film and I don't think that is too high praise. Of course, you could have the most perfect script ever written, but if you do not have the actors to play it out it means nothing. Fortunately the acting in in this film is absolutely stellar.

There is not a bad word I can possibly say against any of the actors in this film. Every single one is incredible. None of the characters in this film even get names and yet every single actor manages to create a distinct and memorable character that you remember. Seriously, everyone is great. Martin Balsam, John Fiedler, E.G. Marshall, Jack Klugman, Edward Binns, Jack Warden, Joseph Sweeney, Ed Begley, George Voskovec and Robert Webber. Every single one is superb. You may notice I have only written ten names there, and that is because there does happen to be two performances that stand above the rest. They come from Lee J. Cobb and Henry Fonda. These two are the two key actors of the 12. They have the most influence on the narrative with Fonda being the first man to say not guilty and Lee J. Cobb being the most stubborn on the side of guilty. Fonda's calmness and ease with which he puts across his points is magnetic, and you totally believe people buying into his reasoning and coming to his side. Lee J. Cobb is the opposite. He is hot headed and aggressive, but is ultimately sympathetic and he plays it incredibly from start to finish. They also have great chemistry which adds so much to their more confrontational moments. You have to put in a pretty special performance to be picked out among 12 incredible performances and that is exactly what Fonda and Cobb managed to do.

If you could not tell from the review, I absolutely adore this film. I loved it on first viewing and my love has only grown stronger on repeat viewings. It is pretty much perfect. The film on a technical side is stellar, managing to create a feeling of entrapment and claustrophobia. But it is truly in the fantastic script and the incredible acting that this film rises above most others to be one of the few films I will say is 5 stars. So obviously I recommend it, but for this one I want to do more of that. I implore everyone to watch this film. It is one of 23 films I would argue is unmissable and is a must watch before you die. It is really that good.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page