top of page

Filmography Friday: Coen Brothers - Raising Arizona

Week two of Filmography Friday and I am already more than onboard with this idea. My mind has been racing with which directors work I am going to run through in future weeks. But that decision is a long way away at this point and at the minute I am on film number two of the Coen’s filmography, and that film is ‘Raising Arizona’ (1987). This is one of the films of theirs that I have seen before, and on more than one occasion and so I already have a set opinion of the film before going into it. But it has been a few years since I last saw it and so there is a chance that opinion could very well be changed. The film follows a couple consisting of H.I. (Nicholas Cage), a former con, and Ed (Holly Hunter), a former cop, who wants to start a family but are unable to do so because of Ed’s inability to bear children and H.I.’s criminal record meaning they cannot adopt. When a local business mogul is blessed with quintuplets the couple decide to steal one for themselves, and so begins a sequence of events both criminal and comical.


Comical is the keyword in the description, especially coming off the back of ‘Blood Simple’ (1984). Whereas that film is very much a noir-thriller, this one fits right into the black comedy genre and does so successfully. I forgot how this funny this film, and it manages to be funny in both its writing and the techniques it uses in its filmmaking. In regard to the writing, it is a brilliant script. There are several great scenes where the dialogue completely carries the comedy, and it is helped by the great characters that the film has. Obviously, these characters are fleshed out superbly as well by all the actors involved, but they are also fantastically written characters with so many quotable lines between them. But what is most impressive is how the film uses shots and camera movements to enhance the comedy of the film. This is most notable in a chase scene about halfway through the film where H.I. has robbed a convenience store and is now fleeing from the cops. The music is really important in creating the comedic atmosphere of this scene, with the film playing a kind of hick country song playing over what could possibly be seen as a proper action scene with different music. But the Coen’s also use really exaggerated camera moves and shots to really emphasise how ridiculous the scene is, and these shot choices become more exaggerated as more ridiculous shit is thrown into the scene. This is the best example of this technical prowess in the film, but it is scattered throughout, and it really gives the film an added visual edge.

So, the big question is do I like this film as much as I did first two times around? I am not sure I did. To be honest, this may very well be down to just my general mood this week where I have not been having the best time, but I also feel like my appreciation for the film has grown in parts and diminished in others. Like I mentioned up top, I don’t remember this film being as funny as it is, and it really is a great comedy. But I also think that it sometimes goes a step too far and I find myself becoming less interested and less bought in in these moments. For example, there is a biker from hell in this film. I don’t mean that in the metaphorical sense, he is literally from hell. The film does try to make out although he may not be, but then his hand sets on fire and he roars like a lion. I would be lying if I said it wasn’t funny and an interesting aspect to the film, but it also feels a bit like a jumping of the shark. Yes, the film is a little ridiculous anyway, but it is ridiculous in how it is exaggerated and how people react to certain situations, and this character is just a step too far. Also, I just didn’t buy into the narrative as much time around. This is something that I really think was down to the mood I was in when watching the film, but I feel like the film just went downhill in terms of my engagement once the kidnapping has occurred.


Despite my low mood this week, I did still very much enjoy ‘Raising Arizona’ even if I didn’t enjoy it as much as I have in the past. At the end of the day, it is just a really made comedy. Technically it is great and is filled with great visuals, mostly due to the camera movements that Coen’s deploy throughout. And it is very funny, and a lot funnier than I had remembered. Do I prefer it over ‘Blood Simple’? Probably not. But again, low mood this week so it is harsh to judge it. I will watch it again when I am a bit perkier and let you know.

Comentários


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page