top of page

Franchise Friday: Harry Potter

And we have arrived at the Final Franchise Friday. At least on a weekly basis. I started doing these when I was unemployed so had all the hours in the world, but I have been working full time since the end of September and watching a franchise every week isn’t viable. So instead I will be doing a Franchise Friday on the last Friday of every month. But this will be my last one for the year so it felt only right to go big or go home. Seeing as I have already done ‘Star Wars’ and ‘Lord of the Rings’ why not have a crack at ‘Harry Potter’. Before it gets brought up, no I haven’t included the two ‘Fantastic Beasts’ films. One, because I was already watching eight films that are all easily over two hours long. And secondly, because I would rather not have to watch that second film ever again, and if I do it will be for a review of all five ‘Fantastic Beasts’ films. But that’s enough that, I am talking about ‘Harry Potter’. This is a franchise that I have always very much enjoyed, but it never hooked me like other big franchises have. Maybe that will all change with another run-through of them…




Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2001)


Okay, I think I might be about to make enemies right off the bat. I like this film, I really do. But putting my nostalgia for it to the side and looking at it objectively, I can see that it is not amazing. It is, in fact, demonstrably fine. At the end of the day, it is clearly a film made for kids and some of the more childish elements don’t play as well when you get a bit older. I understand getting Chris Columbus in to direct the first two film. He is a solid director, but he doesn’t exactly wow with his directing style and so, in turn, the film does not wow with its visuals (or maybe I have just seen it too many times). Also, I know it is maybe harsh to focus on, but I can’t look past the horrible child acting in the film. Some are better than others, but both Daniel Radcliffe and Emma Watson aren’t exactly there yet in terms of being believable and seeing as they are main characters it does become a bit of a problem. Despite this, and as I said up top, I do like the film and there are obviously good things about it. All the adult actors are great, especially Alan Rickman as Snape who is perfectly cast in the role. It is also a solid story, so I have no complaints on a narrative sense. When it comes to special effects it actually holds up decently well, although there are some moments where it doesn’t look all that. But the real MVP of this film is John Williams. He does so much leg work for this film with the music. It is pitch-perfect throughout and he manages to create atmosphere and emotion throughout with his score, and the score at the end when everyone is leaving Hogwarts to go home is just superb. Overall, I do enjoy this film, but I also honestly think that Nostalgia may be blinding me to it a little bit. Either way, we have another Columbus one coming up so let’s see how he does on his second go around.


Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002)


Turns out who does much the very same, although this film is an improvement on the first film. I think that it is helped quite handily by the fact that the acting has improved from the first film. It still isn’t stellar and there are some dodgy parts, but mostly all the kids in this film do a good job. Again, the film is well made if not ever wowing with its visual style or direction. The special effects all still look pretty decent as well. The film mixes its CGI effects with practical effects which means that you feel like these creatures are real and you can touch them even when they are computer-generated. The music is also still great and is a huge part of the success of these films in my eyes. So, if everything is pretty much the same, what makes this film better than the first one? Well, narratively it is much more engaging and darker. There is a bit more mystery behind the storyline with several twists and turns. But it also manages to be more fun with some really great scenes creatively. But it mostly comes down to the fact that the climactic scene stomps all over the climactic scene of ‘Philosopher’s Stone’. Firstly, I adore the set of the ‘Chamber of Secrets’. The look and scale of it are just brilliant, and it is imagery that sticks in your mind. Also, Harry fights a bloody massive snake, what is there not to love about that. Finally, I couldn’t write this review without mentioning Kenneth Branagh’s performances as Gilderoy Lockhart. He is a ton of fun in this film. He manages to capture the overconfident narcissistic side of Lockhart as well as the pathetic cowardice that he hides beneath it all. He is also sinister when he needs to be. It is quite a loaded and evolved character and he captures the character brilliantly each step of the way. It’s a shame he isn’t in any more of these films.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004)


Straight off the bat, this film looks so much better. There is far more artistry with the film’s direction, which is unsurprising seeing as Alfonso Cuaron took the reigns on this film. The way the camera moves and the composition of shots is just a level above the previous films. The film also seemingly does a better job of filling the world with little background details that give more atmosphere and build the world a little more. That being said, there are a couple of weird choices in this film. There is a Looney Tunes kind of moments where I am pretty sure Harry breaks the 4th wall, as well as that weird freeze-frame ending that is just bizarre. They don’t make the film any better or any worse, but they do make it a bit weirder. In terms of performances, they are taken up a notch once again, helped by the addition of Timothy Spall, Gary Oldman, and David Thewlis to the cast who all do brilliant jobs in their roles. This is also the first film with Michael Gambon as Dumbledore and although it is weird to see the character change so much film to film, I think he does a good job in the role. This film also takes another step into being a bit of a darker film narratively and has some genuine horror elements throughout, with the scene of the Dementors on the train being the prime example. Despite this dark side to the film, it also manages to remain fun and has the best sense of humour of the films so far. And all this while also having no Voldemort insight. It is not a controversial statement to say that this is one of the better, if not the best, films in the whole franchise. The new visual style matches the narrative perfectly and it kept me fully engaged from minute one until that weird final freeze-frame. I am not about to put it on top of the list as there are still five films o go, but I would be surprised if it wasn’t art least knocking at the door come the end.


Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005)


And now we come to the actual best film in the franchise and I won’t hear otherwise. It is basically a mix between a Harry Potter film and a coming of age teen comedy, two things that I already have a liking for. Put them both together and you get gold. I genuinely think this film is great, and it is easily the film I have seen most out the franchise (I would so how many times, but it is probably quite embarrassing). This film is also the bridge between what feels like two halves of the series, before and after Voldemort returns, which means that it has the elements of each of those halves I like. It has the levity and every film being a different adventure feel of the first three films, with the darker edge of the four that come after it. I think it is equally the funniest and most emotionally gripping film of the franchise mostly because it balances the vibe of the two halves of the series. Of course, this is where Cedric Diggory is both introduced and killed (spoilers) and I think the whole climax is handled brilliantly from all parties involved. It is also, of course, our first introduction to Voldie as we know him, the no nosed boyo come to kill your dreams. Ralph Fiennes is brilliant in the role, managing to be completely intimidating but with an air of flair and theatrics about him as well. Performance-wise all the kids go from strength to strength throughout these films so can’t so that’s good to see. But it is the aspect of the film which feels like a teen coming of age film that really puts it over the top for me. I just find the mix of this in the Harry Potter world wildly entertaining and it is a film that I find myself coming back to much more than the rest of the franchise. I was curious whether on this rewatch this film would still be my favourite, and I suppose there is still a chance for this to change, but for now, it remains the best in my eyes.


Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007)


And so, begins the era of David Yates and the era of these films being very grey. I actually don’t dislike how these films look but they are lacking in colour (although I suppose that helps contrast Luna from the rest of the world). I also want to point out that, despite this being based on the longest book it is the second shortest film, with the shortest being the second part of a two-part story. It has absolutely nothing to do with the quality of the film, but I just find it interesting. In terms of the film itself, I really enjoy this one. It has a good mix of comedy and threat that make for a compelling and entertaining ride. It is also the film which introduces the real main villain of this franchise. No, not Voldemort. Umbridge. Holy mother of god is she the most unlikable character in this whole franchise and Imelda Staunton is perfect in the role. She captures the faux smile and evil of the character superbly and the fact that I hate the character as much as I do is proof of her brilliant performance. This film also has the best wizard fight out of the whole franchise, with the fight between Voldemort and Dumbledore in the Ministry of Magic. This scene is the perfect mix of emotional weight which gives the fight stakes and just some kick-ass magic action. Voldemort literally makes a fire snake appear from out of his mouth like a dragon. Love it. Re-watching the film though I am not entirely sold on Bellatrix Lestrange. I think the character is just a bit too hammy. Maybe that is how it is written in the book, I can’t remember, but I don’t know, there is just something about the performance that I don’t particularly think is great. But otherwise, this is a very solid film with some great set pieces and acts as a brilliant set up for the rest of the franchise.


Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009)


I am really not sure how I feel about this film. On the one hand, I think it is probably the most forgettable of the entire franchise with so many scenes just completely passing me by without me caring all that much. On the other hand, it has some of the best scenes in the entire franchise, these all being when it is focusing on Snape and Malfoy. This is the film that made me realise that these two are the most interesting characters in the whole franchise. I like Harry as a protagonist, but it is these two characters who have the most interesting motivations and emotional arcs. Each scene involving either one of these characters are the most engaging in the film and the scenes that stick with you at the end. And yes, that does include the scene where Dumbledore dies (if you didn’t know that where have you been?) which I think is mostly executed well, except that weird one shot of Dumbledore falling in slow-mo. I don’t think it is a terrible shot or anything, I just don’t think it was needed and I feel the film would have more emotional impact without it. Other than all those scenes though the film is just kind of meh. Technically the film is still very well made if still lacking in colour. Performance-wise I think this is one of the better films with everyone nailing their marks from start to finish. Alan Rickman, of course, steals the show though. Apart from that, I have very little to say. Before this rewatch this was the film I had watched the least and, although I think I do like it more than I had originally thought, the fact that most of the film is kind of forgettable doesn’t have me wanting to come back anytime soon.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 1 (2010)


Okay, I think this may be the film I have had the biggest turn around of opinion on. I always had said that this was my second favourite in the series behind ‘Goblet of Fire’, but I don’t think that is the case. I still like it, and there are some great moments throughout, but there is also a lot of nothing going on. The opening scene is a lot of fun, although I wish more had been made of Hedwig being killed. It is literally an ‘oh no. Anyway…’ kind of deal. The scene where they take Polyjuice potion and go to the ministry is a lot of fun as well. But the film is just a lot of wizard camping. I don’t think it is necessarily all that bad and it allows for some great environment shots. And I do think this is one of the better-looking films of the franchise. But it also means that the film is a lot of sitting around being mopey. Apparently, this used to appeal to me, but watching it again I didn’t particularly carer for the film on the whole. When it is good it is good and when it is not it is pretty dull. I also couldn’t talk about this film without talking about the animated scene talking about the story of the Deathly Hallows. The scene is really beautifully animated and has a fantastic visual style, but holy hell does it come out of absolutely nowhere. There is absolutely nothing like this in the rest of the franchise and it sticks out like a sore thumb. I see why they did it. The story is decently long and just filming Hermione telling the story would be dull, but it also is so different from everything else around it that it feels odd. It is great in solidarity but doesn’t really work on the whole.


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 (2011)


Actually, it might be this film I have had the biggest turn around on. I remember thinking this film was a bit of a let-down, and maybe in some ways it still is. But I actually really enjoyed this film this time around. It is pretty much non stop from the very beginning until the very end and it is a ton of fun to watch. Obviously, it also has some heavy emotional beats to it being the final film in an eight-film franchise, and all this does mix to being a very good film. The film also wraps up all the stories and arcs that it had built up quite nicely, but this is also where some of the disappointment comes in. The Snape arc is wrapped up very nicely and is one of the more emotionally satisfying moments in the film. Also, holy shit his death is damn brutal, and I feel like they manage to portray the brutality of it really well without showing it in full. But I feel like the Draco arc is quite disappointing, especially as the cut scenes of him complete his arc brilliantly and I have no idea why they were cut. But the rest of the film is executed well enough that it doesn’t matter all that much. The action is all a ton of fun, performance-wise everyone nails it, there are some great visuals throughout, and it is emotionally investing and entertaining. Is it as good as it could have been? Well, maybe. I don’t think the rest of the franchise is so strong that I would have been a five-star film and it is about on a mean level of quality with the rest of the franchise at least for me. There are moments that could have been executed better, but overall, I think it is a solid final film for the franchise.


In what was quite a surprise, my opinion of this franchise was actually bettered by this watch through. Beforehand I would have argued that there were only really two of these films worth watching, but now I would say all but two are worth watching. Those two are the first two, and even then, I still like those films quite a bit, although I feel like this is fuelled largely by nostalgia because I don’t think they are actually very good films. But this franchise still hasn’t reached the upper echelons for me. Although the franchise is solidly good to great from the third film on, it never reaches the heights of the other big franchises, at least not for me. Still, there is something quite magical (pun hugely intended) about the franchise and there is no doubt I will come back to it time, and time again.

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page