top of page

Home Alone: I don't think I will ever get bored of this film.

When doing this last year, I had a bit of a focus on the Christmas classics, and yet somehow, I didn’t get around to watching ‘Home Alone’ (1990). I have no idea why as it is one of my favourite Christmas films. It might even be the Christmas film I have seen the greatest number of times. Well, better late than never as they say and any excuse to watch this gem again is always welcome. Sorry to spoil my thoughts on the film so early but come on. It is ‘Home Alone’, who doesn’t love it. The film follows Kevin McCallister (Macaulay Culkin) who, after having an argument with his family on the eve of their Christmas vacation wishes they would disappear. He appears to get his wish when they set off on their vacation while leaving Kevin at home alone. Kevin is initially overjoyed, but this soon changes when his house is targeted by two burglars, forcing Kevin to protect his home.


I think it is fair to say that this film isn’t remembered for its technical brilliance or creativity in direction. I mean, of course, it isn’t. It is directed by Chris Columbus after all. That doesn’t mean that it is poorly directed, but it is very much by the numbers, classic Hollywood style direction which basically shows everything you need to see plain and simple. The reason this film is heads and shoulders above so many other Chris Columbus films is more down to the work of John Hughes as a screenwriter than it is Columbus. You might think it is harsh to say, but you only need to compare the two bodies of work to see that I am probably right. But every great script needs great performances to bring it to life and I can’t think of anyone who does a bad job in the film. I am going to get onto my favourite two performances a bit later, but there are a few others I want to mention. Of course, Macaulay Culkin is great. His line delivery can be a little off at times, but he is full of personality and charisma and he is a ton of fun to watch. I also really enjoy Catherine O’Hara’s performance in the film. She manages to be a comedic presence when she needs to be, but he also carries a lot of the emotional weight of the film on her shoulders and she bear that weight well. I also want to quickly mention John Candy who only has a very small role in the film but still has a ton of charisma and has a screen presence that makes his performances memorable regardless how short. I also couldn’t do a review of this film without a mention for John Williams for his superb score which does add a whole extra level of charm and atmosphere to the film.

For me, the two stars of the show, in my opinion, are Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern as the Wet Bandits. These two provide the real comedic heart of the film and their ability to pull off slapstick is superb. The final break-in scene where the two of them are basically repeatedly tortured while attempting to break into the house is endlessly funny no matter how many times, I watch it. I knew everything that was going to happen and yet the two performances are so strong that it does not hinder the comedic value. Everything about their performances during this scene are great. Their line deliveries are consistently funny, with one moment where Joe Pesci is basically spotting of inaudible gibberish where you can tell he is stifling a barrage of expletives which would be more coming with the rest of his career is funny. Their facial expressions and reactions to each situation are spot on and really heighten the slapstick moments. And I can’t talk about this scene without mentioning the screams. Pesci has some great screams, especially when his head is being set on fire. But it is Daniel Stern who wins in the scream competition for the scream when he has a tarantula on his face. Everything about it is perfect. The build-up is great, the facial reaction is brilliant, and the scream itself one of the great comedy screams of all time and that is not hyperbole. It may be the highlight of a twenty-minute sequence which is full of brilliant comedic moments.


It is often hard to write about a film such as ‘Home Alone’ without treading over old ground. I mean, what else can be said about it? Everyone knows it almost inside and out and I’m sure the majority of you will be watching it again this year if you haven’t already done so. Because of this it also seems kind of silly to recommend it. Obviously, I do, but everyone has already seen it and so everybody knows whether they like it or not already. But if you have somehow avoided this film your whole life definitely get it on your watchlist.

Comentarios


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page