top of page

Journey to Japan and Korea - 39 Weeks: My Neighbor Totoro

Already dipping my toe back into the Ghibli and Hayao Miyazaki library by focusing on possibly the most acclaimed and loved film the studio has ever produced, so much so that the title character became the logo for the studio. That film is, of course, My Neighbor Totoro (1988). To be honest, the main reason I decided to watch this is not just because it is one of the true classics of Japanese cinema, but also because I’m in the midst of a pretty aggressive mental health kick and I really just needed a pick me up. And not many films are as much just pure joy as this one. From the opening credits the film has a tone of pure adventure and fun, and while it does include a third act that adds some stakes and brings the tone down to being a little more sombre, the majority of the film is basically just this childhood exploration, and it is just wonderful. It is full of colour and wonderful animation that adds to this, and it is almost impossible to not watch the film with a wide smile on your face. There is a nostalgia to it, with the film focusing on childhood adventure and discovery that is relatable even for people outside of Japan, but the film also does feel distinctly Japanese with its visual style, creature design, and (obviously) setting. It is a wonderful film that is one that I could and will come back to again, and again, and again, even if the Catbus is somewhat nightmarish.


Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page