top of page

Kermode Introduces: Prevenge

And we’re back! Welcome to the first review of 2021 and the first ‘Kermode Introduces’ since the end of November. I missed a good selection of films since then, with ‘La Haine’ (1995) being the pick of the bunch. But, luckily for me, I have also had ‘Prevenge’ (2016) on my radar for quite a while and so I was very happy to see Mark choose it as his film of the week. I knew very little about the film apart from the premise, but that was more than enough for me to be interested in seeing it. The film follows Ruth (Alice Lowe), a heavily pregnant widow, who embarks on a murderous spree, guided by the voice of her unborn child. Can you see why I was interested now?


First thing to say about the film is that it is a clear passion project for Alice Lowe. As well as taking the starring role in the film, she also wrote and directed it. And she did it while herself being heavily pregnant, so she was also calling on her own life experiences when making the film. This film is effectively auteur theory in practice, and I think she pulls it off really well. In technical terms, the film is very solid. Though it isn’t the most visually gripping film you are ever going to say each shot helps in building the atmosphere of the film, and there are several creative moments of shot choice and camera movement that stop the film being flat in its visuals. Some of these choices do not work as well as others, but overall, it is all executed well. The script and narrative are also great. I mentioned up top that the premise alone was basically what got me interested in the film, and it is a premise that is carried out really well. The film keeps it ambiguous as to what is actually going on and has a slight mystery as to why Ruth is killing the people, she is which gets you engaged in the narrative more than if she was just murdering without motive. But it also knows that the premise is itself a little silly, and the film really buys into the comedic aspect of it all. But it is also a script that manages to have real moments of hard-hitting emotion. The film doesn’t rely on these or force them, but it slowly builds to them so that you get there yourself despite the narrative being focused on laughter and murder. And all of this is captured brilliantly by Lowe who puts in a fantastic performance. Whether a scene needs her to be comedic or a little more serious she delivers, and it is a performance that really pushes the film to be as great as it is.

There was very little chance that I wasn’t going to like this film. It is a slasher film for a start. It may not be a slasher like you would think with a man in a mask killing people, but it still falls into that genre of film and it is a genre that I am a fan of. It is also a British comedy which I am always drawn towards being British myself. And it manages to be a really good addition to both genres. The film is really funny. It isn’t the funniest film you are ever going to see, and it isn’t funny in a way where I am going to be coming away quoting the jokes, but I was laughing throughout, and the film has great pacing in terms of how it delivers its laughs. And it also manages to be a really solid slasher film. Although it is not extravagant in its kills, it does have some great ones, Also, rather surprisingly, the holding back on gore really adds to the film. That isn’t to say the film is not gory at all because it definitely is. There is plenty of blood throughout and the film is not afraid to get quite violent, but it also keeps it a little grounded and doesn’t go overboard with its gore to the point of lunacy. It also means that it doesn’t make the film difficult to watch at all. Well, except for one part. So I am of the male persuasion and there is one kill in this film that made me audibly gasp, not just because it was a genuinely shocking moment, but also because… well I think you can probably work that out or yourself.


Mark did a good job in picking the film to kick off my 2021 reviews. I had a ton of fun with this film. It is technically very proficient and full of good performances, although they are all overshadowed a little by just how good Alice Lowe is. It is also a film that works brilliantly well as both comedy and a slasher film with great kills mixed with great laughs. It is clearly going to be a recommendation from me. Even if you are not a fan of slasher films the film stands well enough as a comedy that I think most people would enjoy it regardless. As for me, I am now hoping Mark keeps up this level of choice for the whole year.

Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page