top of page

The Green Knight: Ask me if I like this film in a week.

First trip back to the cinema in a long time and boy how I have missed it. Fortunately for me, there is a large number of films coming out within the next month or so I will most likely be found there a lot. One of those films was The Green Knight (2021). I knew almost nothing about it other than what could be deciphered from the teaser trailer I saw what feels like years ago. Saying that I did know that A24 were involved in the film, and I am one of those people who are sold on that. But that lack of knowledge meant that it was rather exciting to head in, jump into the unknown, and hopefully be surprised. The film is a retelling of the story of Sir Gawain (Dev Patel), one of King Arthur’s knights of the round table. At a Christmas banquet for the King, Gawain steps forward to challenge a mysterious Green Knight. The challenge? If Gawain can land a blow on the Knight, he must venture to meet him one year later where the Knight will land that same blow on him. After cutting off the Knight’s head, Gawain travels to meet him to honour his pact.


This is a film that has very much divided opinion. While it is gaining quite solid critical acclaim, the audience reaction to the film has been far more divisive, and I would be lying if I said I didn’t understand why. Even as I sit here writing this, I am not entirely sure how I feel about the film. The first to mention is that this is an objectively impressive film in terms of its visuals in every department. The costumes and sets are wonderfully designed to help create a world that feels both medieval and fantastical, which of course fits in with Arthurian legend. The choice to shoot the film in Ireland is an added bonus in terms of visuals. The landscape of the country is gorgeous, and the director Lowrey utilises wide shots to really capitalise on this beautiful scenery. But it also allows the film to have a great scale when it needs to. And then there is the cinematography in general which is absolutely superb throughout. The use of colour and light is also massively impressive. If you couldn’t tell from the film’s title, green is the colour of the day and it is used throughout the film in large parts, but you also get great oranges, blues, reds. It feels weird to type something like that, but if you were to see the film you would understand why I am bringing up the use of colour. And it is in the scenes where colour is most utilised where the greatest visuals are present. As mentioned, the lighting is also impressive. I am not 100% sure if it is entirely shot with natural lighting, but it definitely feels like it and this adds to both the atmosphere and general world-building the film has made for itself.

So, on a visual level, it is brilliant, and I would be surprised if anyone argued otherwise. But where I feel the film loses people and indeed lost me for parts, is with the narrative. It isn’t particularly cohesive or flowing, feeling more like a set of unlinked events than a narrative arc and it meant that there were times where it lost me. This was particularly the case at the beginning of the film where I found myself a little lost and also a little bored. Now, this wasn’t boredom in the general sense. The best way to describe it Is 2001: A Space Odyssey (1968) boredom. By this I mean while the visuals and filmmaking are impressive enough to keep you engaged, the narrative leaves you are wanting more. And again like 2001: A Space Odyssey there are narrative threads and moments that did get me in and engaged me more, especially as the film went along. By the end, I was completely bought in and engaged and was curious as to where it was going, but the first half of the film had me in and out in terms of interest. One aspect of the film that kept me hooked was the performances, especially that of Dev Patel. He puts in a great performance where he runs the gamut in terms of emotion, and also creates an intriguing and flawed character, while also being one you root for. He also has a great supporting cast around him, but it was his performance in the central role that really kept me involved.


In hindsight, I would have liked to have sat with this film a little longer before writing about it, but my schedule meant that wasn’t going to be possible. If it was a may have been able to sit here with a more definitive answer on whether I liked the film or not. I feel likely it is objectively good, especially on a technical level. But the narrative didn’t hook me until late in the day, and that did mean that the first half was a little dull in my eyes. However, it is filled with great performances and some amazing visuals which meant I enjoyed it on those levels even if the narrative left me wanting. I feel like it could be one I appreciate more over time but has left me a little perplexed after the first watch.

댓글


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page