top of page

What We Watched in 2020

We have come to the end of what has been a pretty wretched year. For me, it has been a year of real ups and downs, and while I have seen more films than is humanly acceptable, I have hardly seen any that have been released this year. Now, I could technically do best and worst films of the year lists, but they would not be true reflections of the year in film. So instead, I decided to ask my friends and family what films they had seen this year which had made it slightly more bearable. There has been a range and I have very much enjoyed going through these films and getting an insight into the different tastes of a fairly large sample size. This is already a long enough piece of work, Aso I won’t waste much more time. I hope you enjoy it and I wish you all a happy new year!


Queen and Slim (2019)


Brilliant story, great soundtrack, two leads (Daniel Kaluuya and Jodie Turner-Smith) are electric. Some heart-breaking moments and also some uplifting feel-good scenes. Cinematography and the colour scheme used are also brilliant. – Joe T


This is a film that I was looking to watch so I’m glad that this review meant I had to commit to watching it. And I wasn’t disappointed. I really enjoyed the film and I do agree with most of what Joe has said above. In terms of performance, he is right on the money. I pretty much knew Daniel Kaluuya would be great because he is yet to have a role that I have not liked him in, but Jodie Turner-Smith was an unknown quantity and I felt like she put in a brilliant performance. The film also looks great. It feels slick and clean and it has some great shots sprinkled throughout. Now, where I kind of disagree with Joe is when it comes to the narrative. That isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy the story of the film because I did, but it felt quite predictable from the beginning and there weren’t any real turns in the narrative that I was hoping for. However, despite the predictability of it all it still has an emotional weight that meant that I did buy-in and had the emotional reactions that the filmmakers wanted out of me. I also enjoyed the structure of narrative in how it managed to make me feel like the characters. There are several small moments of joy and freedom where we as an audience can also feel this before we get slapped back into the tense scenes which are all life or death. What I found most interesting about the film is how it tackled its subject matter. The film is politically charged and makes comment on police brutality against Black people in America, which this year kicks hard. The film tackles this in a smart and nuanced way, showing several different perspectives on both sides of the situation while still putting across a very clear and powerful message. Oh, and as Joe mentioned, the film does have a great soundtrack.


The Ballad of Buster Scruggs (2018)


Beautifully made, funny and grim – echoes of Samuel Beckett. – Rob Sc


Beautifully made is absolutely on the money. The cinematography and set design in this film are gorgeous. I do have a particular liking for ‘American West’ imagery, so it was always going to be easy to win me over. But what the Coen’s do with that imagery and landscape is oftentimes breath-taking. Anthology films are always a challenge because you have to make several stories that are engaging and entertaining in a short span of time. ‘Buster Scruggs’ achieves this to some extent. The issue this film faces, at least for me, is that I don’t find the final two stories all that great and they also make up almost half of the overall runtime so the film does feel like it is starting to drag. This is the second time I have watched this film and I have had this has been the case both times. The other issue is that they are immediately prefaced by my favourite story of the bunch, ‘All Gold Canyon’. It is such a simple narrative and yet told beautifully, with Tom Waits doing a brilliant job. It also happens to be the best looking of all the shorts, with some absolutely stunning visuals. I can’t say anything bad against any of the performances in the film with each actor doing their job well. The whole film is brilliantly made, as you would come to expect from a duo as good as the Coens are. I still find myself lagging towards the end, but the first half is good enough that I am happy to watch it regardless. A good mix of stories from the funny to the dark, and some that straddle the line between both, all being beautifully made. Just a couple that don’t really do it for me.


Pete’s Dragon (2016)


It made Amelia shut up for a couple hours and I really enjoyed it – Emma


She is a tough child to keep quiet so that already says something about the film. I will preface this by saying I have never seen the 1977 version of the film, so I have no idea if this follows that films narrative closely or not, just as a heads up. Anyway, onto this film. I liked it. I didn’t think it was anything special and it isn’t the most original of films, especially in the narrative which was very predictable from the start and felt like a mix of ‘King Kong’ and ‘E.T.’ more than anything. But this is more forgivable as it is a kid’s film, and it is a solid story for kids so I won’t complain too much. Apart from this, the film is a very solid kids film. It is really well made with some great visuals and impressive CGI that still holds up very well. It also has a really impressive cast. Bryce Dallas Howard does another solid job, and I am yet to see a film I haven’t liked her in. Karl Urban is also knocking about, and I love me some Karl Urban. This isn’t him at his best, but it is a solid performance none the less. And then you have the legendary Robert Redford as well who adds a lot of presence to the film. Even the two child actors are consistently decent. Anyone who reads these reviews knows my opinion on child actors, so it is always high praise when I say they put in a good performance. So overall a very solid kids film which I am not surprised was able to shut up my niece, but not one I will be going back to anytime soon.


A Star is Born (2018)


Lady Gaga is absolutely incredible in it. I found a film where I didn’t have the urge to check my phone at all and it gave me all the feels. – Lizzie


The 2019 Oscar season was one where I made an attempt to watch all the Best Picture nominations before the ceremony and I missed only two, ‘Vice’ (2018) and ‘A Star is Born’, mostly because they were the two I was least interested in. After seeing it, while I see why people really enjoy it, I was right in assuming that it isn’t really for me. That is not to say I disliked it because I didn’t. In fact, for the first 45 minutes or so of the film, I was genuinely very much engaged with the film and where it was going to go. As Lizzie said in her short review, Lady Gaga is very good in the film, as are all the actors. Bradley Cooper does a very good job and Sam Elliot remains a ray of light in everything he is in. But after those 45 minutes, the film starts to really tail off. It doesn’t fall off a cliff, but it steadily rolls down a decent incline to the point where I almost become completely disinterested. Basically, the more it focused on Cooper’s character the less I cared. There is also a character in the film who acts as the antagonist who feels really cheap and basically just a stereotype of music producers in film. But the film is strong enough in its performances that it carries the lack of emotional weight I felt it carried. Now, this is clearly not the case for everyone. As Lizzie said in her review ‘it gave me all the feels’, but it did not have this effect on me. But I did mostly enjoy it and I can see why so many people really loved it. Oh, I’m also going to have ‘Shallow’ stuck in my had now for the next week so that’s great.


Amazing Grace (2018)


One of the most uplifting films I have ever seen, I loved the atmosphere, the music, the 70s hairstyles and clothes, the old woman on the front row, the fact that Mick Jagger was sitting at the back. It’s real and authentic. Human beings are fantastic – Catherine


Aretha Franklin wasn’t half bad, was she? Uplifting is the right word for this film. It is ninety minutes of pure joyous energy that seemingly reaches out through the screen and drags you in with it. My reaction to the film is evidence enough of this. I was dancing in my chair from the first to the last song and was so sucked into the performance that I even started applauding after one of the songs. It seems silly but there is something about the film that makes you feel like your there. Maybe it is the grainy footage or the documentary-style shooting, but as an audience member, you feel involved in what is going on. But this film is also a brilliant showing of the power of music. Like I say, I was moving in my chair, which is basically not a reaction at all compared to how several people react in this film. From uncontrolled dancing to uncontrolled weeping, to genuine religious experiences where they are crying to the heavens, the power of music in both communal and individual spaces is on full show. I can’t remember the last time I had a smile on my face like I did during this film, and if you ever need me a pick me up you can’t go to wrong than with this film.


i’m thinking of ending things (2020)


I have loved every film Kaufman has been involved with and this one again shows his mastery at dealing with profound emotions like memory and loss and identity through absurdity and black humour. The film is confusing but deliberately so and, cleverly, never loses the viewer or severs their connection to the characters. - Ian


So, this is the second time I have watched this film and I have to admit that I am none the wiser as to what the film is about, and yet I still very much enjoyed, perhaps even more so than the first time around. Despite the fact that I often found myself trying to work out what was happening or what the meaning of the film was it never lost me, and it is a compliment to the quality of the film that that is the case. It is a masterfully constructed film on almost every level. It is a film full of great performances, including another tarring role for Toni Collette who is quickly becoming one of my favourite actors the more I see of her. The script while often times feeling like gibberish (although it most certainly isn’t) remains completely intriguing and funny, and sucked me into each and every conversation, including one of the most uncomfortable diner scenes I think I have ever seen put to film. The film is also a visual delight. The composition of every shot is stunning and leads to some genuinely beautiful visuals throughout the film. Even when the film spends prolonged sequences sat with our characters in a car it manages to find ways to keep the film visually interesting. The fact that I am still unsure of the meanings behind the film, or even unsure on my own specific take on the films meaning means that it will be a film I keep returning to and I am sure each time will be a completely new experience.


Bridget Jones’s Diary (2001)


I just thought it would be one of those chick flicks that’s all perfect by the end. But it’s not about fixing people’s flaws, it’s about accepting them as part of the people you love. – Sean


So, this is what ‘Bridget Jones’ is then? Yeah, I can see why it got a couple of sequels. It probably won’t surprise many people to know I am not a big fan of rom-coms. That isn’t to say that I think all rom-coms are terrible because that isn’t true, in fact, there are a lot of great ones. But the genre is low in the pecking order when I am choosing what films I want to watch, and when they are bad they are usually bloody stinkers. This film sits somewhere in the middle but knocking on the door of being a great rom-com. I mostly say that because I didn’t find all that funny. It definitely had its moments, and it did get a few laughs out of me, but not as much as it probably should have. But I would be lying if I said it didn’t keep me entertained, and that is mostly down to the cast who all do a great job. I like Colin Firth and Hugh Grant as actors, and they are both perfectly cast, and all the supporting cast are great as well with everyone filling up the world of the film with fun characters. But the key to the film is in Renee Zellweger’s performance as the titular Bridget Jones. She is great in this film. Bridget is such a fun character and Zellweger’s performance matches that. She brings all these little quirks and personality to the performance and all the heart and emotional weight of the film is a result of her performance. Overall an enjoyable film with great character and performances, but not hugely original or all that funny. Still, it was good enough that I would not be opposed to watching the sequels.


Crumb (1994)


One of the weirdest films I’ve seen but a weirdly relatable film about isolation – Ewan


So, I think weird is a slight understatement. Not in the style of the film which, while very well made, doesn’t particularly push the boat out in terms of how documentaries are made. It is in the subject matter that the films weirdness is seen. Before seeing the film, I had a passing familiarity with Robert Crumb, in that I knew the name and some of his comic images. I now feel like I know about him then maybe I should. I felt almost voyeuristic watching this film like I was being shown a window into every inch of a person’s personal life and psyche. This is a credit to the subjects who were extremely open, and the filmmakers who were able to create this feeling throughout the film, mostly through the use of extreme closeups which get you into the subject’s personal space. It is a film that is endlessly fascinating, keeping you hooked with each new revelation or deep dive into his life. It was also not the easiest watch at times, especially when the film gets into a lot of the more personal stuff. I also see where Ewan is coming from with the film’s relatability in certain aspects, but there are also moments in the film that made me not relate to the subjects at all. It is a really mixed bag in that sense. But I cannot say that I wasn’t pretty much transfixed throughout. Crumb is a truly fascinating person who has led a fascinating life and it is (seemingly) all laid to bare in the documentary.


Marriage Story (2019)


I liked the fact that the topic was something new and something I’d never seen before, and I think the way that it made the watcher feel sad about the marriage falling apart, whilst also realising that they shouldn’t be together and also being comedic was done really well. – Annabel


I was curious as to how I would feel about this film on second viewing as I had loved it on my first viewing. Yeah, still love it. The Oscars this year were particularly strong in the best picture category and if it wasn’t for a certain other film being up for nomination then this would have been my favourite of the bunch. In technical terms, I think it really well done. There are no truly striking visuals provided by the film, but it is well shot and looks nice throughout. As the narrative is a very personal one the film employs a lot of close-ups and tighter spaces to make everything feel more personal which does mean that the opportunity for really striking visuals is hampered, but it still looks great. With it being a personal tale, the film relies heavily on the performances and writing, and it is all stellar. The film beautifully treads the line of being true realism and a Hollywood version of reality and it works really well in making a film that is both emotionally investing and truly entertaining at the same time. But it is the performances within the film that truly make it stand out. Laura Dern won the Oscar for her role in the film, but the standouts for me are Scarlett Johannson and Adam Driver. They are both superb in their roles. Their chemistry is great and they both are able to be sympathetic, loveable, and dislikeable all at once. Their performances allow you to resonate and disagree with them and they create the emotional impact of the film almost all on their own. This is the second time I have seen this film in a relatively short amount of time and I doubt it will be the last.


The Trial of the Chicago 7 (2020)


Classic Aaron Sorkin punchy dialogue script. The subject matter is more relevant than it’s ever been, (lawful injustice and government distrust) and it’s presented in a way that’s easily digestible. That’s my biggest criticism of some of Sorkin’s other scripts is that that they are overly wordy, this one he’s fairly restrained. – Max


I do enjoy myself a courtroom drama so there was always going to be a good chance that I would enjoy this film and that I did. I am actually not all that acquainted with Sorkin’s work so I can’t say how this dialogue matched up with his other work, but I do enjoy the dialogue in this film. The script is a strong one and the actors involved all have the chops to pull it off and make it believable. This makes the film engaging from the word go, especially as I had very little knowledge of the actual event the film is based on. What I will say about the film is that Sorkin’s strengths lie much more in screenwriting then than they do in directing. I don’t think the film is necessarily poorly directed, but there are some choices that I don’t think particular fit all that well, especially with the use of montage which happens quite a lot. The film also has this weird sentimentality to it which is so prevalent in Hollywood films, and I think it takes away the weight of the narrative at times. But these don’t take away from my enjoyment of the film on the whole. I think the narrative is strong enough that I was totally engaged with the film throughout. Also, can I just say that Michael Keaton makes any film he is in better. And Judge Hoffman can fuck off.


I, Daniel Blake (2016)


Gritty, real-life and very thought-provoking. Makes you realise how lucky you are. An emotional one. Everyone should watch it. – Lynn


Well fuck, that was heavy. I could probably some up this film by saying fuck this Tory government, but I will go a bit more into the film in more general terms. This isn’t Ken Loach’s first foray into social commentary regarding the working class and more specifically the working class of the North of England, but it hits a little closer to home with everything going on currently around child poverty and people being out of work. The style of the film is very personal, with Loach deploying a lot of close-ups and the film does occasionally feel like a documentary, although it is not the predominant style of filmmaking the film adopts. There is a distinct lack of colour throughout the film which adds to the sense of desperation and desolation of the characters and their lives. The film is built on two superb performances from both Dave Johns and Hayley Squires. Johns is the real heart of the film, with him making Daniel Blake completely relatable, sympathetic, and loveable, and you are completely on his side every step of the way. But for me, Squires is the star of the show. She is incredible in her role and she has the majority of the truly hard-hitting emotional moments in the film and she sells each of them brilliantly. If you are thinking of giving this a go be warned it is properly heart-breaking and, if you are like me, will also make you genuinely angry. Still, I can’t recommend it enough. Oh, and fuck this Tory government.


The Lobster (2015)


What the fuck. Strange, deranged and exactly what I needed to break away from the mundaneness of the pandemic. – Andy


This is only the second Yorgos Lanthimos film I have seen, and although ‘The Favourite’ (2018) was a little bizarre for a historical drama it did not prepare me for how bonkers this film was going to be. The premise itself is odd enough, but how this remise is played out just adds to the absurdity of it all. But the film takes it completely seriously and doesn’t offer up any real explanation as to why the world is like it is. That world is one that feels very much like this one except everything is just a little bit off. The way everyone acts in the film is stilted and awkward, from the line delivery to how the characters move and interact with each other. All the actors pull this off really well and they are completely bought into to just how weird this narrative and world is. And it is this weirdness that makes the film so intriguing and entertaining. I became enthralled in the world and all the little quirks that made it. It kept me engaged from start to finish just wondering where it was going, and the ambiguity of the ending was one that I really appreciated. The added bonus that the film provides is that it looks great. The composition of shots throughout is beautiful, and the film manages to capture that Irish landscapes fantastically well. I do not entirely know why but there was a moment during the film where I felt like it was a bit like Wes Anderson without the whimsy. It isn’t necessarily an accurate depiction of the film or style, but it does give a vague idea of how the film looks and feels and it may very well be a selling point for you. As for me, I’ll be seeking out lot of Yorgos Lanthimos’s films in the near future.


Mulan (2020)


I was sure I wouldn’t like Mulan when I discovered there would be so many changes from the original which I’m a massive fan of. But this film stands on its own and I loved every second. Working in a male-dominated industry, I especially enjoyed the element of women empowerment. – Nadia


Like Nadia, I am a huge fan of the original ‘Mulan’ (1998), but in opposition to her, I was actually excited that the film was going to do something completely different with the material. I was so sick of the utter shit remakes where they did almost the same thing but worse (‘Lion King’ (2019), ‘Beauty and the Beast’ (2017), etc) and so I was very excited to see the film go the other way and do something completely different with it. And I actually think the film could have gone further with it. Before I get into that I will say I think the film is fine, which in terms of my praise for Disney remakes basically says that is the greatest film ever made. But in all seriousness, I think the film is decent. I can see why people would really enjoy it, but for me, it never really got above being fine. It has some really great visuals, and the action scenes are a lot of fun. But I think what stops this film being great in my eyes is that it is trying to be both a remake of the Disney classic and its own film and it makes the film feel muddled. The moment that really showed this was where the film makes reference to ‘A Girl Worth Fighting For’ through really ham-fisted dialogue which is groan-worthy. A lot of the time they work the songs into the score, and it works quite well, but this moment was pretty naff. I think there is a really great film trapped in this one, and if it ha been a little less Disney and a bit more ‘Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon’ (2000) I think I would have enjoyed it more. As it is I think it is decent and yet still the best of the Disney remakes.


Joker (2019)


Probably the most realist comic book film I have seen to this day. Amazing portrayal of such a complex character. Gives such an intense yet, sadly true depiction of mental illness and societies downfall in understanding mental health. Overall – Cracking watch 10/10. – Dom


I am going to have to immediately disagree with Dom on this film or at the very least his 10/10 rating. I do like this film, and I enjoyed it more second time around then I had the first time, but I still feel it is a film that has its issues. The biggest issue that I have with it is that it is basically just ‘The King of Comedy’ (1982) but not as good. It is also a film that is unavoidably ‘political’ while not really carrying any level sincerity or weight to its message. And although I see where Dom is coming from with the film’s take on mental health, I don’t necessarily agree. I don’t think the film has a great portrayal of mental health as it shows the only characters with mental illnesses as violently unhinged or abusive. I don’t think it is as heinous in this regard as others, but I also do not have the know-how to really say how accurate or inaccurate it is. But I still do enjoy the film somewhat. One of the reasons is because it is really well shot. The film looks great and has some beautiful visuals. But the real reason this film is worth viewing is for Joaquin Phoenix who is hypnotic in the lead role. He throws himself into the role and I feel like the film is nothing without him. I do understand why so many people, including Dom, think this film is great, but there is something about it that doesn’t quite click with me.


Drive (2011)


Cast, amazing. Soundtrack, amazing. Was it put together well? Of fucking course, it was. The whole thing is just wonderful. As a casual movie watcher, I loved it. Still listen to the soundtrack regularly. – Rob Sm


Talk about a film I have had on my watchlist for years and I can finally now say I have seen it. And having now seen it I wish I had watched it sooner. I really enjoyed this film. As Rob has already mentioned, the film has a to tier cast all doing great work. Ryan Gosling, Bryan Cranston, Oscar Isaac and Ron Pearlman all are their usual brilliant selves, and Carey Mulligan and Albert brooks add to the star power of the film. The film also looks brilliant. The cinematography throughout is beautiful and shows off L.A. fantastically. But it is the lighting that really gives the film its superb visual style. It has a sort of ‘Miami Vice’, ‘Hotel Miami’, kind of vibe to it with its almost neon looking visual style (which is helped by the title font) and it is a look I really like. The soundtrack also adds this feel to the film with it being overloaded by synth beats. What I didn’t expect from the film, and an aspect which I really enjoyed about it (which may say a lot about me), was just how brutal it gets. It is a film that doesn’t hold any punches in terms of its violence and not only is this something that took me completely by surprise, but it also adds a lot of weight to everything going on. You feel like there real consequences to the characters actions in the film which makes all the action more emotionally effective. It also treads the line of realistic and over the top brilliantly which makes all the films feel properly brutal without becoming comedic like it can when it goes too far. It is a film that sucked me into the narrative as much as it was visually intriguing and I will absolutely be coming back to it in the future.


The Invisible Man (2020)


Mostly because our lass proper shat herself and it wasn’t overly cliché or predictable which is a nice change from some of the other films I’ve seen recently – Paul


I try to avoid spoilers in my reviews but I’m going to struggle to do that with this one so heads up. I feel like this film had a lot of potential that it didn’t deliver on and because of that, I find it quite disappointing. That isn’t to say it is a bad film at all. It is actually a very solid film on a technical and visual side of things. There are a lot of great camera movements throughout and some great visuals, and there are some great action sequences that have fun choreography. There are also some genuinely shocking moments that got me, and I applaud them. The performances in the film are also great, especially from Elizabeth Moss who kills it in the lead. However, and this is where I am going to spoil the film, the film plays its cards far too early. The first hour of the film has you almost second-guessing whether or not the lead is paranoid and seeing things or if the titular ‘Invisible man’ is real. This ambiguity was genuinely very interesting and led to the film feeling a lot more tense and had me guessing if this was real or not. But then they show you that the invisible man is indeed real with an hour of the film left and I instantly couldn’t care and the film dragged from then to the end with a couple moments hat got me engaged again. So, the film for me is a solid one which I can fully see why people would enjoy, but the expectations I made for the film meant that I found it disappointing. Is this harsh? Probably, but it affected my enjoyment of the film so I need to mention it.


Brave (2012)


Because I watched it before, and I like it. – Amelia


The insight of three-year-olds is a wonder to behold. To be honest, she could like a lot worse films. ‘Brave’ is a very solid film, but never reaches the lofty heights that they so often do. Unsurprisingly the film is gorgeous to look at. The animation is superb and the environments that the animators created are beautiful, using light and colour fantastically to create a visual treat of a film. The film also does not have a true antagonist which I liked. The film’s narrative does not necessitate an antagonist, with all the film instead focusing on character relationships and having two major character arks throughout the course of the film. Now, for those who have seen the film you may argue that Mor’du is the antagonist and that would be a valid argument, but that character is mostly a background player for the film, only really coming into play towards the end so that the film can have a more intense climax. This is both a benefit and a hindrance as, on the one hand, we do get a pretty kick-ass climax, but it also feels a little tacked. Where I feel the film is at its weakest is in its narrative. It is not a bad narrative at all, but it didn’t really drag me and make me emotionally invested in a way that I think it would have hoped to do. But it remains a very solid film from Pixar and I did enjoy it, although it’s not one I see myself returning to time and time again, and I think that is where me and Amelia really differ.


About Time (2013)


I was really hungover and almost cried when (redacted due to spoilers). There was a love story going on as well but that was the main bit, I took from it. Finding the love of his life was nice but his dad was the Rockstar off ‘Love Actually’ and is cool as fook. – Dec


I can see why this would make a person in a hungover state cry. I have seen this film before but it had been a good long time since I had last seen it so there was a fair chunk I don’t remember, but I think my opinion of that remains pretty much the same from the last time I watched it. That opinion is that it is pretty good even if it is a little too long. The premise that the main character can time travel to moments in his life is a fun one, and the film takes it seriously enough that it never feels forced or hokey. You always feel like the time travel works within the world of the film. It is a remise that also leads to several fun scenes, mostly involving the main character being terrible in conversation and going back in time to have several goes at getting it right. The film also has a lot of heart and is not afraid to go to pretty heavy emotional places, and all of these moments feel earned within the narrative. All of this is helped by a great cast all doing good work. Rachel McAdams is a lot of fun in the film, as is Bill Nighy who also has most of the really emotional moments within the film and carries these moments well. But the strength of the film lies with the performance of Domhnall Gleeson. He plays the dorky, slightly introverted main character really well and he adds a lot to the film. I feel like without his performance the film would be a lot weaker, but as it stands it is a fun time. It isn’t exactly the kind of film I go for but I still enjoyed it while it was on.


The Long Day Closes (1992)


I think Terence Davies is one of Britain’s best and most underappreciated filmmakers. I especially love his early autobiographical films set in Liverpool, which ‘The Long Day Closes’ is one of. You glide through the streets of Liverpool in the 1950s in this charming and honest portrayal of working-class lie, and you warm to a character whom you feel like you’ve known for years. It’s a love letter to cinema and I could watch it every day. – Alex


I have to agree when Alex says that Terence Davies is underappreciated. Personally, I had never seen any of his films until now. And having now seen ‘The Long Day Closes’ I am not exactly sure how to describe my reaction to it. First off, I will say that I very much admire the film. It is visually superb. The cinematography through is masterful and the creativity of shots within the film was oftentimes breath-taking in their beauty. Whether the film was showing the streets of Liverpool or it took into the imagination of the protagonist the film remained a consistent visual treat. I also admire the structure of the film and how it flowed smoothly from the real to the imaginative. Through this, it manages to create a sense of memory and childhood nostalgia that runs through the entire film, in both the good and bad times. Also, killer soundtrack (I love me some 50s era music). There is actually very little I can think of in the film that I would criticise or disliked. But it also didn’t feel the same emotional connection with the film as Alex had. I couldn’t even really tell you why. It is a superbly made film and I also have a soft spot for films that celebrate cinema which this film most definitely does, and yet something seemed to be missing. What I will say is that it captured my attention enough that I want to give it another go. And I don’t want this to sound like I didn’t enjoy the film because I did. It is more just confusion because everything about the film would suggest I would love it, but alas. I will be coming back to it though so we may very well get an update on my review.


Once (2007)


Once is John Carney’s musical drama film about two struggling musicians in Dublin, Ireland, and I absolutely adore it. Made with a modest budget of $150,000, the film is incredibly raw and grounded in the way it is made, but so magical in how it captures your emotions through the stunningly memorable original songs, the beautiful story, and the strikingly naturalistic acting. It is one of those films that only come along every so often that you can tell was made with such infectious passion and energy. Where everything seems to fall into place effortlessly, as it sweeps you off your feet. – Lewis


I was meant to watch this for my Irish film module while on my year abroad, but I chose to drink £1 pints instead, so I apologise to my lecturer for being three years late on this. I am also sorry to myself as I thoroughly enjoyed this. First of all, I love the low budget look and feel of the film. It does occasionally lead to some shots that don’t work all that well, but on the whole, the film is really well shot. It has a documentary-style feel to it at times, especially in the recording studio scenes, due to the handheld camera style the film goes for. This is matched by the performances that are also solid throughout They are all a little understated, but it works within the narrative and the style of film and makes the film feel more authentic and like you’re watching real people. The film also manages to be an effective musical, and don’t get it wrong this is definitely a musical. It isn’t your classic burst into song and choreographed dance style musical, but it is a film which is filled with original songs that are both diegetic and non-diegetic and I enjoyed pretty much all of them. Like the rest of the film, they are understated in nature, but they also add to the narrative and emotional weight of the film. This film is a really good representation of the power of music and musical expression and as someone who has recently become more involved in writing music this year, it was very relatable on this level. The narrative also reminded quite a bit of ‘Lost In Translation’ (2003) which is defiantly a good thing.


The Way Back (2020)


Unfortunately, while Affleck teaches kids to sink three-pointers, he cannot stop sinking cold ones, and Coach Carter Cunningham eventually pays the price for his demons. In all seriousness, Affleck taps into his real-life struggles with alcoholism and delivers an emotional performance which showcases his dramatic acting chops. The message may be obvious and the redemption through sports trope is well worn, but I am a sucker for an underdog arc. – Joe P


As this was a film released in the year of 2020 it is very little surprise that I had never heard of it before Joe picked it for this review, and I am pleased he did. While I feel like this film is oftentimes cliché and feeds into the tropes of Hollywood sports films, I did enjoy it and I feel like these tropes did not undermine the narrative. I also know sweet fuck all about basketball so a lot of the jargon that the film employs during the basketball scenes went straight over my head, but again they didn’t drag me out of the scenes at all. Yes, it was like listening to a completely different language but the delivery of the lines and the performances from the whole cast mean that I felt the emotion of the scenes regardless. The whole cast is solid throughout the film, but it is a Ben Affleck flick, and he is the person you come away from the film thinking about. Like Joe mentioned, the character in the film does mirror some of the real-life issues faced by Affleck, especially when it comes to alcoholism. Affleck’s real-life experience with this does seem to feed into his performance in this film and he really does bring it. He is completely engaging from the kick-off and he brings a huge amount of emotion and heart to the film. Without knowing the man, it is hard to say whether this film acted as some sort of catharsis for him, but what I can say is that he is superb. I feel like without his performance the film may have been consumed by the more cliched aspects of itself, but as it stands it is an enjoyable and emotional sports film.


Calibre (2018)


A film which manages to build tension really well. As well as a gripping storyline the cinematography is top-notch – Rob N


There are certain films where I both enjoy and hate the experience while watching it. This was one of those films. And the side of me that hated watching it is probably the best-selling point for the film. This is a thriller after all, and its ability to make me feel tense and anxious was very impressive. And that is why I hated it. You get the feeling that something horrible is going to happen from the first moments of the film, and when it finally does the film becomes this seemingly endless sequence of tense moments. There is no respite from this either and so I was just sat wishing the film to end. This is of course helped by the performances which are solid from top to bottom. Jack Lowden is a standout with his performance as he manages to capture pure anxiety and guilt brilliantly. As Rob mentioned, this film is also filled with great cinematography, mostly when it is showing off the landscapes. It helps that Scotland is full of really beautiful landscapes, but they are shot really well none the less. The film also manages to get the feel of small British village down pretty damn well, or at least it feels like it from my experience. It also manages to make the village itself feel really welcoming as well as dangerous in both the characters that it places within the village and how it shoots it. My only real issue with the film is that it feels like it wrapped itself up to early, with the last twenty-five minutes or so, although still solid, did not have the same emotional effect on me as the rest of the film did. I know I said I wanted the film to end because I was too anxious, but I wish they had managed to keep it going until the very end. Still, a very solid thriller that I would definitely recommend unless you are of a nervous disposition.


Short Term 12 (2013) – Rachel


Very heartfelt, the characters felt real and it had a poignant story… not always the easiest watch but a great film. – Rachel


I think saying this film is not always the easiest watch is a huge understatement. Cheery this film is not. Now, this film had actually been on my radar for some time, but I have never got round to watching it. Having seen it I was missing out. I really enjoyed this, despite how upsetting it can be at times. And I genuinely mean that this film delves into some upsetting themes that can be difficult to watch, but they never feel like they are being disrespected or exaggerated to make the film more devastating. In fact, keeping the film feeling realistic and accurate to the situation makes everything much more emotionally gripping because it makes you understand that this stuff happens. This is achieved not just through the script and structure of the narrative, but also in how the film is shot. The film is effectively made up entirely of close-ups, giving the film a more personal feeling and making it easier for the audience to make connections with the characters. The film also doesn’t seem to know what a tripod or Steadicam is with the film having camera shake throughout. But, again, this makes the film more emotional punch as it gives it a documentary film, again playing into the realism the film is going for. But a film like this is nothing without good performances and, fortunately, it is chock full. All the kids are great in their roles which is not always the case, with a particular shoutout needed Lakeith Stanfield who was superb. Brie Larson is also brilliant in the role, capturing every emotion brilliantly and managing to make me believe that she had worked the job she is pretending to be working. So yeah, this film is a difficult watch, but I would say it is definitely more than worth it.


Gone with the Wind (1939)


I love a classic film, and this one is particularly nostalgic as it was on tv many times when I was growing up, I love the costumes and the scale, appreciate that it’s from the bloody 1930s and so incredibly well made. And of course, the plot itself makes me tear up every time, even the score gets to me. I love how refreshingly real it is in its ending. Oh, and I’ve read the book and I think it does it great justice. Vivien Leigh is a great actress and I think a perfect Scarlett – so much energy and life to her. – Lydia


Oh, boy do I never want to watch this again. This is the second time watching the film and I remember enjoying it a lot more than I did this time around. The film remains a technical masterclass. The scale of the film remains hugely impressive with some genuinely superb visuals throughout. The film totally commits to the period and you feel like you have really been transported to the world that the film has created. And, like Lydia mentioned, it has a very good and memorable score, especially the main theme which is superb. The performances throughout are also solid. Yes, it is all a bit melodramatic but I’m not sure I would expect much different from a film released at the time. But, having already seen it and knowing where everything is going the film just drags on and on and on. It isn’t heinously tedious, but the fact that I watched all three ‘Lord of the Rings’ extended editions yesterday and that felt like a shorter time than this film should say it all. It is four hours long to be fair to it, but it felt so much longer. Then of course there is the problematic nature of the film and its politics. There aren’t two ways about it, it is basically confederate propaganda, and while no way near is uncomfortable to sit through as something like ‘The Birth of a Nation’ (1915), there are still some really uncomfortable moments. But the technical side of the film is unquestionable fantastic and there are some genuinely brilliant sequences within the film. But that runtime is a killer, and the slow pace of the storytelling does not help. Oh, and Scarlett O’Hara is bloody horrible.


National Treasure (2004)


It is a film for all ages, it has a bit of everything in it… action, comedy etc. It was also my first Nicolas Cage film and he is just great! – Kate


It has been an absolute age since I have seen this film, and yet I remembered a good chunk of it. Which is especially odd because I don’t think it is a very good film. It isn’t bad and it is fun enough, but for a film that I think is mostly fine, it is damn memorable. In a technical sense, this really does feel like a standard Hollywood film. It is serviceably shot and edited so that it can tell its story, but you never feel like you are having a brilliant visual experience. In terms of narrative, it is fun even if it does feel a little bit like a dumb downed version of an ‘Indiana Jones’ film. The clues are fun and thought out enough so that they make sense, but I was never so invested in the adventure that I was trying to work out what the clues meant for myself. But it is still intriguing enough that I was never bored and there was a level of investment there that made me want these characters to succeed in their adventure. But the film is as entertaining as it is because of the performances. I do have a soft spot for Sean Bean, so I am always happy to see him in films, and he does not let me down in this one. But the real reason this film is fun is because of Nicolas Cage. This isn’t him at his most entertaining and there are no proper freakouts that he has become known for, but he has a screen presence that is entertaining regardless, and the film would massively suffer if he wasn’t in the lead role.


Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers (2002)


It’s a classic and Tolkien’s brilliant writing comes through well when made for the screen. – Emily


I have already done a full review of the ‘Lord of the Rings’ trilogy this year, however, I review the original releases. Emily did not specify whether she meant the original cut of the film or the extended edition and so I took at the latter and used it as an excuse to watch all three extended editions for the first time. And I did. Today. In one day. I’d say it was a slog, but honestly, these films are so fucking good that that is just not the case. My session of watching the films did stretch over 12 hours but they just flew by. But I have to focus specifically on ‘Two Towers’, but a lot of what I say here is going to match up with my opinion on the other two so yeah. Amway, in regard to the additions added in the extended edition of ‘Two Towers’ it is a mixed bag. Or should I say it is mostly very good and adds character depth and more meaning to several aspects of the story. But there is one really odd scene thrown in there where Merry and Pippin drink some water, start speaking Entish, almost get eaten by a tree, get saved, and then move on with their lives. It was properly odd, and I don’t think it needed to be included. As for the rest of the film, what can I say? It is pretty much perfect. From the performances, the sets, costumes, the direction, the cinematography, the music (the score is one of the best of all time) it is just all so good. If you want a little more depth you can read my earlier review of it, but there is very little else to say here then to say that these films are some of my favourites of all time and I love them.


The Devil All the Time (2020)


I like that dirty style of the film, the grittiness of southern America. Robert Pattinson is insane in it. – Finn


This is a film which has all the elements to be good, great even. I, like Finn, enjoy films set in the south of the United States. The aesthetic mixed with a lot of the types of films ability to make me really feel the heat of the locations is something I often enjoy, and for the most part, this film captures that well. In terms of its look, I can’t fault it. It is well directed and is full of great cinematography which gives the film an enjoyable visual style. The film is also full of really great performances. It is a stacked cast so I can’t go through every single actor one by one, but the standouts for me are Robert Pattinson, Bill Skarsgard, and Harry Melling. All have very different characters, but each captures the conflict in each of them well and are the more interesting performances within the film. The issue I had with the film is that I could not get myself into the narrative at all, and this meant that the slower-burn pacing of the storytelling made the film feel like a slog at times. I think the way the story is structured makes it all the harder to buy in as it jumps around between a few different narratives without ever really linking them until the end, which made some of the actions of characters a little confusing. I also have a pet peeve for narration in films, and oh boy is this one chock full of narration. There are points where it isn’t all that bad, but then there are other times where it literally tells you what is happening on-screen rather than showing you. It is no surprise that this is based on a book in that sense. Still, I feel like this can be a great film if you get engaged in the narrative, but it was a little bit of a swing and a miss for me.


Vacation (2015)


A vacation with some added ‘family’ drama. Ed Helms is a babe. The kind of feel-good comedy everyone needs in 2020 (wow that sounds cliché but true). 10/10 would recommend. – Chloe


I think this Is where the idea of subjectiveness in comedy comes in to play. To be fair, this film isn’t a comedic horror show There are more than a couple of jokes that got a laugh out of me and I never found myself totally bored or properly having a bd time with the film. But just a few laughs do not make a ‘good’ comedy. But like I said up top, comedy is completely subjective, and this is just a style of comedy that misses more than it hits for me. By this style of comedy, I mean your standard Hollywood comedy that are prevalent today with plenty of raunchy jokes, f-bombs, and, of course, poo. It goes for more shock humour or just plain silliness and I feel like it doesn’t land a lot of the time. Technically the film is very serviceable. It is shot and edited well enough without ever being a real visual gem, but then again it never needs to be. The performances are also solid throughout and all the actors seem to be having a good time with the film. Ed Helms is fun in the lead role and is able to be both a straight man and a comedic presence. But as is often the case nowadays, my favourite actor in the film is Chris Hemsworth. He doesn’t have any truly laugh out loud moments, but he is a fun and funny presence in the short time he is on screen. Turns out he is a genuinely great comedic actor, and I would like to see him in more in the future. Overall, this wasn’t my kind of comedy but it is decent enough that I can totally see why it would be for someone else.


A Bugs Life (1998)


A powerful depiction of bourgeois exploitation. A 20th century Das Kapital – Cameron


I mean that’s one way of describing it. I don’t want to know how many times I have seen this film. It was one of the ones that was on rotation when I was a child, and despite not seeing it for probably 15 years I still remembered almost every moment. And I still very much enjoy the film. That being said, I don’t actually think it is that strong of a film, at least for Pixar, mostly because the narrative is not particularly interesting. Even the more interesting aspects of the narrative are just Pixar’s take on ‘Seven Samurai’ (1954). The rest of the narrative revolves around the misunderstood protagonist who is always messing up, then seemingly makes up for it through a misunderstanding, then is found out and hated by all, before redeeming themselves at the end. It is a narrative that has been seen in kids’ films time and time again and, while well told, is nothing new. Fortunately, the film has enough fun characters to make the film entertaining and engaging enough, especially with the circus bugs who are all a lot of fun. Where a lot of the film’s fun comes in the ‘human’ things it has occurring in a bug world (that is horribly explained but you get what I am on about). My favourite example is when it begins to rain and the film uses the sound of bombs dropping, both giving the film great sound design while also giving the audience a sense of the danger the characters are in. In terms of how it is animated, it still holds up really well. Not so much in actually how the characters look as they do seem a bit off on occasion. But the movements f the characters all still look great and was particularly impressed with how light and shadow were used in the film. Overall it is an enjoyable film but is one of Pixar’s lest impressive ventures.


Comments


Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page